• FAQs

Uganda Virus Research Institute




  • To strengthen and sustain Excellence in clinical trials on poverty-related, neglected and emerging infectious diseases through capacity-building, mentoring and networking for globally-competitive clinical trials.


  • Innovation | Excellence | Equity | Transparency | Accountability | Sustainability


  • EACCR2 is an Eastern African-led network established in 2009 and comprises of 23 regional partners from Ethiopia, Kenya, Rwanda, Sudan, Tanzania and Uganda, and 5 Northern partners from Belgium, Netherlands, Norway, Sweden, , and United Kingdom. It aims to strengthen the capacity to conduct internationally acceptable health research with specific focus on clinical trials on poverty related diseases (HIV, TB, Malaria) and neglected Infectious emerging and re-emerging diseases) in the region.


  1. a) To strengthen the collaboration and optimize the use of shared research infrastructures and other capacity building resources and opportunities
  2. b) To establish a new node (NID) to manage and establish the needed facilities to conduct clinical trials on neglected, emerging and re-emerging disease that burden the region
  3. c) To boost and deliver an Eastern Africa training and mentorship program
  4. d) Promoting an increase and retention of the independent African researchers, research leaders and managers.
  5. e) To strengthen and strategically expand South-South and North-South collaborations between researchers and institutions with a specific focus on supporting less established institutions in building capacity for high quality clinical research.
  6. f) To promote networking, and dialogue between researchers, communities and policy makers to maximize the use of health research evidence for shared knowledge management, policy change and improved health programming in Eastern Africa

Other Partner Institutions:

  • Uganda National Health Research Organization (UNHRO); Entebbe, Uganda
  • Uganda Virus Research Institute (UVRI): Entebbe, Uganda (Seat of EACCR secretariat).
  • Kenya Medical Research Institute (KEMRI)-Wellcome Trust Research Programme, Kilifi,Kenya.
  • KEMRI-Centre for Global Health Research: Kisumu, Kenya.
  • MRC/UVRI Uganda Research Unit on AIDS: Entebbe, Uganda.
  • National Institute for Medical Research (NIMR)-Muhimbili Centre: Dar es Salaam, TZ.
  • Kenya AIDS Vaccine Initiative (KAVI), University of Nairobi: Nairobi, Kenya.
  • Institute of Endemic Diseases (IEND), University of Khartoum (UofK): Khartoum, Sudan.
  • The University of Oxford (UOXF), Oxford, United Kingdom.
  • National Institute of Medical Research (NIMR): Dar es Salaam Tanzania.
  • University College London (UCL), United Kingdom.
  • Karolinska Institutet (KI) Stockholm, Sweden.
  • The Good Samaritan Foundation (Kilimanjaro Christian Medical Centre GSF KCMC)Moshi Tanzania.
  • Stichting Amterdam Institute for Global Health and Development (AIGHD): Amsterdam, the Netherlands.
  • Stichting Katholieke Universiteit-Radboudumc (RUMC), Nijmegen, the Netherlands.
  • Instituut Voor Tropische Geneeskunde (ITG), Antwerpen, Belgium.
  • Centre Hospitalier Universitaire Vaudois (CHUV): 1011, Lausanne, Switzerland.
  • University of Rwanda (UR): Kigali Rwanda.
  • Addis Ababa University (AAU): Addis Ababa, Ethiopia. Jimma University
  • Kilimanjaro Christian Medical Centre/Kilimanjaro Clinical Research Institute (KCMC/ KCRI), Moshi, Tanzania
  • London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine (LSHTM) Makerere College of Health Sciences; Maseno University

The EACCR 2 has 5 Nodes

  • HIV node host at UVRI- Entebbe Uganda which is also the Secretariat, TB node NIMR- Muhimbili, Tanzania, NID node University of Khortoum Sudan, Malaria node KEMRI- Welcome Trust- Kilifi, Training node KCRI- Moshi Tanzania

EACCR 1 Achievements:

  • The EACCR 1 registered the following achievements by December 2013.


  • Collaborated with the East African Community Health Research Commission in regional sharing of research evidence; Supported collaborative ventures with other existing research consortia and networks of excellence and collaborated with other EDCTP-, MRC-UK, Wellcome Trust-funded and US National Institutes of Health-funded consortia.

Facilitation of health research

  • Established an Eastern African pool of over 20 senior and mentored clinical trial moni-tors co-coordinated by KEMRI-CGHR, Kisumu and UVRI-IAVI Program
  • Hosted 2 continental stakeholders’ strategic planning workshops in partnership with TESA and WANETAM
  • Completed assessment surveys for 17 regional sister sites
  • Completed infrastructural upgrades in over 20 prioritized clinical trial sites to improve research capacity
  • Implemented upgrades of health, training, ICT, data and office facilities at 17 sister sites; the 4 coordinating centers and selected leading sites in Sudan & Ethiopia

Training (both short & long-term) and mentorships

  • Reached over 200 researchers through at least 10 short-term courses on research and research-support skills;
  • Sponsored and successfully supervised 30 postgraduate research fellows.
  • EACCR 1 contributed at least 150 peer review publications;
  • Successfully conducted relevant research-skills workshops (e.g. in immunology, epidemiology & biostatistics, bio-ethics, GCP, GCLP, bio-safety, anti-malaria resistance, etc.) in collaboration with the Makerere University-UVRI Infections and Immunity Research Program

Networking and communication.

  • Established an interactive EACCR website several open-access electronic learning modules on clinical research, African research skills workshops plus blogs.
  • Networked with other consortia, such as the World-wide Antimalarial Resistance Network (WWARN), Wellcome Trust-funded THRiVE (Training Health Researchers in Vocational Excel-lence, and the Central African Network on Tuberculosis AIDS & Malaria (CANTAM).


Contact of EACCR-2 Node Coordinators

  • Prof Pontiano Kaleebu, Overall Project Coordinator (OPC),EACCR 2 Secretariat.


  • Prof. Blandina Mmbaga, Deputy Coordinator.


  • Prof. Reginald Kavishe Training Node Coordinator.


  • Dr Sayoki Mfinanga, TB Node Coordinator.


  • Dr Bernard Kikaire, HIV Node Coordinator.


  • Dr Norbert Peshu, Malaria Node Coordinator,


  • Prof. Mukhutar Maowia, NID Node Coordinator,